Revision: my top revision methods 

In today’s article I’m going to address the issue of revision. We all have to do it at some point throughout are academic education, so we might as well ace it! 

I’ve complied the article into a kind of cheat sheet (more on cheat sheets below) on the top revision methods and how to make them most effective! 

Firstly I’d like to discuss my favourite method, revision cards. To me revision cards are the most productive revision method. They do not take a long time to make and are a great way of condensing you notes into the most important points.  They can be used anywhere due to their size, so if you have to take a bus journey you can pop a few in your bag. I find a great way to revise from them, is to try and learn them off by heart, read them over and over again until the information is stuck in your head. I think of the revision cards as pockets of knowledge and once I feel I know them well enough I get someone else to test me! 

This is great for learning facts and methods, however you cannot cover every piece of information you might possibly need on revision cards, this is where practice papers come in. Once you feel you have a topic down the best thing to do is test yourself on some practice questions. These can be from a past paper, your text book, or even a question your friend has made up! Not only is this a great way to prepare for the real exam and reaffirm your knowledge, but it shows you where the gaps are and what topics you need to re revise. 

For your weaker topics that need extra revision, I find mind maps a great way to get all the information I need onto one page. This means that any topics I don’t understand I can cover efficiently by jotting everything down at once. If like me, you have a photographic memory, this method is particularly good as you can memorise the whole page! 

Close to the exam, get a group of your course mates together and try and teach each other different topics. If someone doesn’t understand your first explanation, no worries! This enables you to learn how to explain the information in different ways, which benefits the both of you!  

These four methods have been tried and tested by me for the past 15 years! They don’t always work for everyone, so it’s about finding what works best for you! But they are a good place to start. 

Happy revising! 

Lottie x 

Leave a Reply

