If you’ve come from my Instagram (@diaryofaphysicist) you may have seen my post of everything I carry in my bag to university, so I thought I would go into a bit more detail about the items. I also want to share with you my methods of reducing the amount you carry so have you a light and effective load in your bag.

The Bag 

Being a student, saving money is very important. So I got my uni bag second hand from depop for £15, it’s real leather so will last me throughout my time at university and it’s black which is not only practical but goes with most outfits as well. 

The Laptop 

My laptop of choice is the 13″ MacBook Air 2016 addition. I love it. The MacBook itself is extremely light so perfect to carry around all day, fits into my bag well and does not scratch easily. The MacBook functions with fluidity and simplicity, I have everything I need in one place and doubles well as a work and recreational laptop. It is expensive, however I have used mine everyday since I bought it so can definitely say it’s worth the initial price.

The Planner 

If you follow me on instagram, you will know that I love moleskine! My planner is the 17/18 weekly academic planner and I used it everyday. Moleskine is by far my favourite brand for notebooks and planners as the paper quality is amazing and their ability to show little wear and tear is perfect for someone like me who throws them into their bag as they rush out the door.

The Cases

To hold all my stationary I use a felt case from Amazon. It’s the perfect size for me and it’s slots in the gaps due to being rectangular. The thick felt is durable so last a very long time without showing signs of damage and can be easily dried if it gets wet. I purchased a set of 3 of these cases for only £6.99 on Amazon so if you are interested please contact me via my Instagram page! 

How to simplify your bag 

I used to carry all my notebooks, all my textbooks, all my tech and everything else with me everyday. I thought I was doing the right thing, until I started getting back pain because I was carrying so much stuff. As I’ve got older I’ve started to get more and more into minimalism and simplifying my life. So instead of brining my textsbooks, during the day I work off online lecture notes. In lectures I print of the PowerPoints and annotate them which saves me having to carry a large note book with me. I leave all my books at home for studying in the evening. I have a small pencil case with the basic stationary and another case for my laptop and phone chargers (this helps to keep them safe). All my other stationary I keep at home as well as I only use them when making my detailed notes. For my makeup I have a simple, thin makeup bag that only carries the basic items. For food I take a space efficient bento box and use a lightweight rubber bottle for my water. This is much lighter than a glass or metal container and is better for myself and the environment then using a plastic bottle. 

Other ways to reduce the amount you carry. 

Take everything out of your bag and place it all in order of importance. Once you’ve done that put everything near the bottom away and only pack the things you really need. You may need to do this a few times, but it has helped me cut down on the amount of things I carry in my bag! 

I hope you have enjoyed this article. If you have please leave a comment below or message me on my Instagram @diaryofaphysicist. Thank you for reading! 

Lottie x 

One thought on “What’s in my bag: University Addition 

Leave a Reply

